Sunday, September 11, 2005


Fraser Jervis (Lothian & Borders) won his first Scottish Police Golf Association championship when the 2005 Championships were held at Ladybank & Balbirnie Park Golf Clubs on 6th and 7th September 2005.

For the second successive year, the clampionship was decided by a 3 hole play off, after Jervis and John Anton (Tayside) tied on a total of 148.

Competitors enjoyed good weather throughout the championship, although a strengthening breeze on the second day, coupled with fast greens and hard ground conditions made scoring difficult.

In the play off for THE CHAMPIONSHIP, over the Ladybank course, Jervis held a one shot lead as the players approached the final play off hole, the 9th at Ladybank. With both players taking three to reach the green, it was Anton who had to putt first for par. Knowing that he required to hole, Anton gave his putt every chance, but missed and ran some distance past. Anton then missed the return, leaving Jervis with two putts for the title. Jervis made no mistake, and secured the Championship title.

The FIRST CLASS HANDICAP title was won for the host force by Gary Chrystal (Fife), an excellent nett 67, 4 under par, over Balbirnie Park being augmented by a 74, 3 over par, in the closing round at Ladybank, for a 141 total and the trophy by a margin of 4 shots.

The SECOND CLASS HANDICAP was won by S. Nicolson (Lothian & Borders) on 142, 2 strokes better than his closest challenger.

The LADIES CHAMPIONSHIP was a clean sweep for Strathclyde, Alison Gemmill and Linda Robertson taking 3rd and 2nd respectively, behind Carol Collins, whose 147 total was 3 clear of Robertson and 4 ahead of Gemmill.

The RETIRED OFFICERS competition was won by past Secretary and Honorary Member of the S.P.G.A., Peter Nevans (Strathclyde) who recorded an excellent nett 69 on the second day at ladybank, for a 2 round total of 145, which gave him the retired officers trophy by two strokes, and was also good enough to give him runners up spot in the first class event.

The CHIEF OFFICERS competition saw former Chief Constable, William Wilson taking the trophy with a nett score of 72 over Ladybank.

The COMMITTEE COMPETITION, played over Ladybank on the practice day, Monday 5th September, was won by Jim Stevenson (Strathclyde) with an excellent nett score of 66, 5 under par.

The SCRATCH TEAM COMPETITION was extremely close, Lothian & Borders team number 1 taking the trophy by virtue of the better 4th scores, after a tie with Tayside team number 1 on 462.

The HANDICAP TEAM COMPETITION was also won by Lothian & Borders, team number 3 returning a total of 446, to edge out Fife team number 1 by a single shot.

M. Smith (Lothian & Borders) merited a special award after recording a hole in one at the 7th hole at Balbirnie Park during the championship.

At the conclusion of the Championship, Peter M. Wilson, Chief Constable of the host force Fife Constabulary, and his wife attended the closing ceremony, and Mrs. Wilson presented prizes and trophies to the successful participants.

The principal prizewinners in the 81st Scottish Police Golf Championships were

( Scottish Police Golf Chapionship Cup)
Fraser Jervis (Lothian & Borders) 75/73 = 148
(after 3 hole play off)
Runner Up
John Anton (Tayside) 74/74 = 148
3rd scratch - Graham Smith (Strathclyde) 75/76 = 151
4th scratch - Henry Anderson (Central) 77/75 = 152
(Willie Merilees Trophy)
Winner - Gary Chrystal (Fife) 67/74 = 141
Runner Up - Peter Nevans (Strathclyde) 76/69 = 145
3rd nett - Jim Thomson (Strathclyde) 74/71 = 145
4th nett - Stuart Ednie (Grampian) 71/74 = 145
5th nett - Stuart Byron (Lothian & Borders) 71/74 = 145
(Scottish Office Handicap Challenge Cup)
Winner - S. Nicolson (Lothian & Borders) 142
Runner Up - Robbie Allan (Strathclyde) 144
3rd nett - D. Legge (Lothian & Borders) 145
4th nett - D. Cowan (Grampian) 146
(Scottish Police Golf Association Trophy)
Winner - Carol Collins (Strathclyde) 75/72 = 147
Runner up - Linda Robertson (Strathclyde) 73/77 = 150
3rd nett - Alison Gemmill (Strathclyde) 75/76 = 151
(Morrison Rose Bowl)
Winner - Peter Nevans (Strathclyde) 76/69 = 145
Runner Up - M. Cormack (Northern) 73/74 = 147
3rd nett - D. Horne (Tayside) 148
4th nett - M. Graham (Snr.) (Lothian & Borders) 150
(Roderick Ross Challenge Cup)
Winner - William Wilson (Central) 72
(Presidents Chalice)
Winner - Jim Stevenson (Strathclyde) 66
(The Scottish Police Golf Trophy)
Winners - Lothian & Borders Team No. 1 - 462
(best 4th score)
Runners Up - Tayside Team No. 1 - 462
(Glasgow Herald Trophy)
Winners - Lothian & Borders Team No. 3 - 446
Runners Up - Fife Team No. 1 - 447
M. Smith (Lothian & Borders)
in recognition of his hole in one during the championship, at the 7th at Balbirnie park.

No comments: